Can You Name the 13 Countries That Lie On the Equator?


Health Editor’s Note:  I did not know the names of all 13 countries.  How well did you do?….Carol

Countries That Lie on the Equator

by Matt Rosenberg ThoughtCo

Although the equator stretches 24,901 miles (40,075 kilometers) around the world, it travels through the territory of just 13 countries—and yet the landmasses of two of these countries do not touch the Earth’s equator.

Did You Know?

The equator is an imaginary line that circles the Earth, splitting it into northern and southern hemispheres. Any location that lies along the equator is equidistant from the North and South Poles.

The 13 Countries That Lie on the Equator

Of the 13 countries that lie on the equator, seven are in Africa—the most of any continent—while South America is home to three of the nations (Ecuador, Colombia, and Brazil). The remaining three (Maldives, Kiribati, and Indonesia) are island nations in the Indian and Pacific oceans.

Read More:

Due to the nature of independent content, VT cannot guarantee content validity.
We ask you to Read Our Content Policy so a clear comprehension of VT's independent non-censored media is understood and given its proper place in the world of news, opinion and media.

All content is owned by author exclusively. Expressed opinions are NOT necessarily the views of VT, other authors, affiliates, advertisers, sponsors, partners or technicians. Some content may be satirical in nature. All images within are full responsibility of author and NOT VT.

About VT - Read Full Policy Notice - Comment Policy


  1. No, I can´t and why is it neccessary to know them w/o a map ? What purpose is it good for ? The Equator is an imaginary zero line of the sun´s journey over the year from south to north.

Comments are closed.